I haven’t betrayed you, my hometown

I’m leaving…

my poor shadow

remaining

there, wandering on the streets

in the grip of gigantic shades.

Though sick, I’m leaving

hidden under wounds healed

without medicine.

I’m leaving…

How am I leaving?

I still hear

earthly songs

following me

down to Childhood Mines.

My skin chapped

because of the saddening epidemic

makes me suffocate

with its yellow color.

I’m leaving…

roads winding

downwards:

no one knows where they lead to.

Cold weather

hanging itself on my eyes.

the sins I’ve never made

stay locked

in the prison of my body:

I don’t know

why I’m carrying them with myself.

 

You killed me…

unwisely, you killed me

to spare

your own selves.

I saw the culprits

seeing me out

at the door of my hometown:

I was sorry

to leave them behind;

I was sorry

to leave you behind.

My hometown

melting away like snow.

Didn’t you feel sorry

to see me off?

My ears red

with innocence

and the cold

protecting me.

 

But I haven’t betrayed you,

my hometown!

Since I first touched your body,

I’ve been loving you,

I’ve been defending you,

and now I’m leaving you.

This was all I knew.

I’ve been feeding the freshness of your sky

with both body and soul.

How can you deny

me?

My hometown,

you did kill me

because I loved you

beyond my consciousness.

 

I am leaving…

carpeting your streets

with the gravel of love

for the people

walking with their eyes closed.

Unceasingly,

I am carpeting the frozen ice

of your streets

with all I own

so that other people

won’t fall down

like I did.

 

Author: Mirela Sula

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “I haven’t betrayed you, my hometown

Leave a Reply

