DON’T ASK ME

Don’t ask what I did when you left me!
I wanted you
until my anguish turned
it hit me,
it bit me
like a prey…
I writhed
to survive from that craving,
until your rejection defeated me.
Invaded by bitterly feelings
and naivety of spurious hope
I believed
and waited,
until I evanesced,
until I faded.

Don’t ask what happened when you left me!
I smothered in agony!
You left,
but I remain
tied up
by the dead roots of the tree
that you planted in my soul
until I vanished.
I wanted liberation from your chains,
I didn’t know.
I attempted
but couldn’t make it.

Don’t ask how I felt when you left me!
My soul melted,
lost its real composure.
I don’t know!
Don’t ask me about such sensations
don’t ask me what happened;
only anguish undergoes through me
to remain there.
I transformed to another human being
but still couldn’t have the strength
to blame you.

17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “DON’T ASK ME

  1. So painful to read and more so to live…

  2. I am so glad to hear that. Thank you Sheila. Keep in touch 🙂

  3. Lola

    Very nice – just gave me an idea for a new poem.

  4. i can certainly relate to this one. it can be associated in a number of areas. the last three lines show a big leap in growth. i have identified a few things that contributed to a couple of situations i was in. however in my case, i have explored some poetics that identify the other side of which made my own less of an issue. for me desperation set me up for failure.

  5. Wow, so moving. This is powerful stuff. Very nice. 🙂

  6. Sula thats not only a poem, behind is a kind of “silent” music, which includes solacement from beginning to the (not)end

  7. You left,
    but I remain
    tied up
    by the dead roots of the tree
    that you planted in my soul
    until I vanished. This is just so amazing….What a wonderful metaphor within an already wonderful poem!

  8. Rejection, so powerful…I have a post in the wings about it…will be interested to see if you relate…:)

Leave a Reply

